The Man Booker Prize 2013

November 21, 2013

From the Man Booker Prize Website:

“The Man Booker Prize promotes the finest in fiction by rewarding the very best book of the year. The prize is the world’s most important literary award and has the power to transform the fortunes of authors and publishers. Eleanor Catton was announced as the winner of the 2013 Man Booker Prize for her novel The Luminaries on Tuesday 15 October.”

Links to the Minuteman Catalog records of the winner of the 2013 prize and the books on the shortlist are below.

2013 Winner

Eleanor Catton, The Luminaries


NoViolet Bulawayo, We Need New Names
Jim Crace, The Harvest
Jhumpa Lahiri, The Lowland
Ruth Ozeki, A Tale for the Time Being
Colm Tóibín, The Testament of Mary


2013 Hugo Awards

August 24, 2013

The Hugo Awards, presented annually since 1955, are science fiction’s most prestigious award. The Hugo Awards are voted on by members of the World Science Fiction Convention (“Worldcon”), which is also responsible for administering them.” The 2013 Hugo Awards will be presented at: LoneStarCon 3, San Antonio, Texas, August 29-September 2, 2013. A short list of some of the nominees is listed below along with links to their records in the Minuteman Library Network’s Online Catalog, the full list can be read at

Best Novel (1113 nominating ballots cast)

Best Graphic Story (427 nominating ballots cast)

  • Grandville Bête Noire, written and illustrated by Bryan Talbot (Dark Horse Comics, Jonathan Cape)
  • Locke & Key Volume 5: Clockworks, written by Joe Hill, illustrated by Gabriel Rodriguez (IDW)
  • Saga, Volume One, written by Brian K. Vaughn, illustrated by Fiona Staples (Image Comics)
  • Schlock Mercenary: Random Access Memorabilia, written and illustrated by Howard Tayler, colors by Travis Walton (Hypernode Media)
  • Saucer Country, Volume 1: Run, written by Paul Cornell, illustrated by Ryan Kelly, Jimmy Broxton and Goran Sudžuka (Vertigo)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form (787 nominating ballots cast)

  • The Avengers, Screenplay & Directed by Joss Whedon (Marvel Studios, Disney, Paramount)
  • The Cabin in the Woods, Screenplay by Drew Goddard & Joss Whedon; Directed by Drew Goddard (Mutant Enemy, Lionsgate)
  • The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, Screenplay by Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens, Peter Jackson and Guillermo del Toro, Directed by Peter Jackson (WingNut Films, New Line Cinema, MGM, Warner Bros)
  • The Hunger Games, Screenplay by Gary Ross & Suzanne Collins, Directed by Gary Ross (Lionsgate, Color Force)
  • Looper, Screenplay and Directed by Rian Johnson (FilmDistrict, EndGame Entertainment)

2013 PEN Literary Awards Finalists Announced

July 13, 2013

“The PEN American Center, the largest branch of the world’s leading literary and human rights organization, announced today the shortlists and judges for the 2013 PEN Literary Awards.”

The Finalists for the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize (Fiction) and the PEN/John Kenneth Galbraith Award for Nonfiction are listed below and linked to their catalog records in the Minuteman Library Network’s online catalog. The full list can be read on the PEN American Center website.

PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize: “To an author whose debut work—a first novel or collection of short stories published in 2012—represents distinguished literary achievement and suggests great promise.”

PEN/John Kenneth Galbraith Award for Nonfiction: “To an author of a distinguished book of general nonfiction possessing notable literary merit and critical perspective and illuminating important contemporary issues which has been published in the United States during 2011 or 2012.”

PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction 2013

June 29, 2013

“The PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction is a national prize which honors the best published works of fiction by American citizens in a calendar year.”

2013 winner

Everything Begins and Ends at the Kentucky Club, a short fiction collection Benjamin Alire Sáenz published by Cinco Puntos Press.


Threats by Amelia Gray (Farrar, Straus, and Giroux)

Kind One by Laird Hunt (Coffee House Press)

Hold it ‘Til It Hurts by T. Geronimo Johnson (Coffee House Press)

2013 Pulitzer prize Winners for Letters

April 21, 2013

The 2013 winners of the Pulitzer Prize in the Letters category were announced on Monday, April 15th. The winners are listed below along with links to their catalog records in The Newton Free Library’s online catalog.

FICTION – The Orphan Master’s Son by Adam Johnson

HISTORY – Embers of War: The Fall of an Empire and the Making of America’s Vietnam by Fredrik Logevall

BIOGRAPHY – The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo by Tom Reiss

POETRY – Stag’s Leap by Sharon Olds

GENERAL NONFICTION – Devil in the Grove: Thurgood Marshall, the Groveland Boys, and the Dawn of a New America by Gilbert King

Orion Magazine Book Awards

March 30, 2013

Orion Magazine is a nature focused bimonthly periodical with offices in Great Barrington, MA; it is published in collaboration with the Myrin Institute. “Orion’s first Editor-in-Chief, George Russell, boldly stated Orion’s values: ‘It is Orion’s fundamental conviction that humans are morally responsible for the world in which we live, and that the individual comes to sense this responsibility as he or she develops a personal bond with nature.'”

Orion’s mission is to inform, inspire, and engage individuals and grassroots organizations in becoming a significant cultural force for healing nature and community. The Orion Book Award is given annually to a book that addresses the human relationship with the natural world in a fresh, thought provoking, and engaging manner. Four additional books are named as finalists. Books eligible for the Orion Book Award are judged against these criteria: that it deepens our connection to the natural world, that it presents new ideas about our relationship with nature, and that it achieves excellence in writing. The Orion Book Award recognizes books published in North America during the previous calendar year.”

The 2013 Orion Book Award finalists are listed below along with links to their records in the Minuteman Catalog. The winner will be announced during the second week of April just before Earth Day.

 Apocalyptic Planet: Field Guide to the Everending Earth, by Craig Childs (Pantheon Books)
• Flight Behavior: A Novel, by Barbara Kingsolver (Harper)
• Things That Are: Essays, by Amy Leach (Milkweed Editions)
• The Old Ways: A Journey on Foot, by Robert Macfarlane (Viking)
• The Mountain and the Fathers: Growing Up on the Big Dry, by Joe Wilkins (Counterpoint)

National Book Critics Circle Awards for Publishing Year 2012

March 9, 2013

The National Book Critics Circle (NBCC) announced its book awards for publishing year 2012 on Thursday, February 28th in New York. The NBCC was founded in 1974, its mission is to honor “outstanding writing and fosters a national conversation about reading, criticism and literature.”  The NBCC awards “honor the best literature published in the United States in six categories—autobiography, biography, criticism, fiction, nonfiction, and poetry. These are the only national literary awards chosen by critics themselves.” A list of the winners for the 2012 publishing year is below along with links to their catalog records in the Minuteman Library Network Catalog.


D. A. Powell, Useless Landscape, or A Guide for Boys (Graywolf Press)


Marina Warner, Stranger Magic: Charmed States and the Arabian Nights (Belknap Press: Harvard University Press)


Leanne Shapton, Swimming Studies (Blue Rider Press)


Robert A. Caro, The Passage of Power: The Years of Lyndon Johnson (Alfred A. Knopf)


Andrew Solomon, Far From the Tree: Parents, Children, and the Search for Identity (Scribner)


Ben Fountain, Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk (Ecco)