National Book Critics Circle Awards for Publishing Year 2012

The National Book Critics Circle (NBCC) announced its book awards for publishing year 2012 on Thursday, February 28th in New York. The NBCC was founded in 1974, its mission is to honor “outstanding writing and fosters a national conversation about reading, criticism and literature.”  The NBCC awards “honor the best literature published in the United States in six categories—autobiography, biography, criticism, fiction, nonfiction, and poetry. These are the only national literary awards chosen by critics themselves.” A list of the winners for the 2012 publishing year is below along with links to their catalog records in the Minuteman Library Network Catalog.


D. A. Powell, Useless Landscape, or A Guide for Boys (Graywolf Press)


Marina Warner, Stranger Magic: Charmed States and the Arabian Nights (Belknap Press: Harvard University Press)


Leanne Shapton, Swimming Studies (Blue Rider Press)


Robert A. Caro, The Passage of Power: The Years of Lyndon Johnson (Alfred A. Knopf)


Andrew Solomon, Far From the Tree: Parents, Children, and the Search for Identity (Scribner)


Ben Fountain, Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk (Ecco)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: