ALA 2013 Youth Media Award Winners

The American Library Association (ALA) announced its Youth Media Award Winners at its Midwinter Meeting in Seattle.

A list of all the 2013 award winners follows along with links to their catalog records in the Minuteman Catalog:

John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children’s literature: The One and Only Ivan,” written by Katherine Applegate.

Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children: This Is Not My Hat,” illustrated and written by Jon Klassen.

Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Award recognizing an African American author and illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults: Hand in Hand: Ten Black Men Who Changed America,” written by Andrea Davis Pinkney and illustrated by Brian Pinkney.

Coretta Scott King (Illustrator) Book Award: I, Too, Am America,” illustrated by Bryan Collier, is the King Illustrator Book winner.

Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults: In Darkness,” written by Nick Lake.

Schneider Family Book Award for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience:

Alex Awards for the 10 best adult books that appeal to teen audiences:

  • Caring is Creepy,” by David Zimmerman, published by Soho Press, Inc.
  • Girlchild,” by Tupelo Hassman, published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux
  • “Juvenile in Justice,” by Richard Ross, published by Richard Ross
  • Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore,” by Robin Sloan, published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux
  • My Friend Dahmer,” by Derf Backderf, published by Abrams ComicArts, an imprint of Abrams
  • One Shot at Forever,” by Chris Ballard, published by Hyperion
  • Pure,” by Julianna Baggott, published by Grand Central Publishing, a division of Hachette Book Group, Inc.
  • The Round House,” by Louise Erdrich, published by Harper, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
  • Tell the Wolves I’m Home,” by Carol Rifka Brunt, published by Dial Press, an imprint of the Random House Publishing Group, a division of Random House, Inc.
  • Where’d You Go, Bernadette?,” by Maria Semple, published by Little, Brown and Company, a division of Hachette Book Group, Inc.

Mildred L. Batchelder Award for an outstanding children’s book originally published in a language other than English in a country other than the United States and subsequently translated into English for publication in the United States: My Family for the War” is the 2013 Batchelder Award winner. Originally published in Germany in 2007 as “Liverpool Street,” the book was written by Anne C. Voorhoeve, translated by Tammi Reichel and published by Dial Books, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA) Inc.

Odyssey Award for best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults, available in English in the United States: The Fault in Our Stars,” produced by Brilliance Audio, is the 2013 Odyssey Award winner. The book is written by John Green and narrated by Kate Rudd.

Pura Belpré (Illustrator) Award honoring a Latino writer and illustrator whose children’s books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience: Martín de Porres: The Rose in the Desert,” illustrated by David Diaz, is the Belpré Illustrator Award winner. The book was written by Gary D. Schmidt.

Pura Belpré (Author) Award: Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe,” written by Benjamin Alire Sáenz, is the Belpré Author Award winner.

Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award for most distinguished informational book for children: Bomb: The Race to Build—and Steal—the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon,” written by Steve Sheinkin, is the Sibert Award winner.

Stonewall Book Award – Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award given annually to English-language children’s and young adult books of exceptional merit relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experience: “Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe,” written by Benjamin Alire Sáenz.

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for the most distinguished beginning reader book: “Up, Tall and High!” written and illustrated by Ethan Long.

William C. Morris Award for a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens: “Seraphina,” written by Rachel Hartman.

YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults: “Bomb: The Race to Build—and Steal—the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon,” written by Steve Sheinkin, is the 2013 Excellence winner.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: