2010 Truman Capote Award

The winner of this year’s Truman Capote Award for Literary Criticism is Seth Lerer for his work, Children’s Literature: A Reader’s History from Aesop to Harry Potter.

A scholarly work written in a style accessible to the general reader, “Children’s Literature” was previously awarded the 2009 National Book Critics Circle Award.  Lerer relied on his experiences as a parent and his own passion for reading in creating this  “intellectual autobiography”.

Works published in English during the last four years are considered for the award which is administered by the University of Iowa Writers’ Workshop for the Capote Estate and comes with a $30,000 cash prize, the largest in the field of  literary criticism.

Past winners of the Capote Award include British scholar P.N. Furbank; Helen Vendler of Harvard University; John Felstiner of Stanford University; John Kerrigan of Cambridge University; pianist/scholar Charles Rosen of the University of Chicago; Elaine Scarry and Philip Fisher of Harvard University; Malcolm Bowie of Oxford University; Declan Kiberd of University College, Dublin; Irish Nobel Laureate Seamus Heaney; Susan Stewart of Princeton University; Angus Fletcher of the City University of New York Graduate School; Geoffrey Hartman of Yale University; William Gass of Washington University in St. Louis; Helen Small of Pembroke College, Oxford University; and Geoffrey Hill of Boston University.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: