National Book Award 2009

The 2009 National Book Award for fiction was awarded to the Irish-born novelist, Colum McCann,  for  Let the great world spin. Set in 1970’s New York City, the story explores the memorable summer morning when a mysterious tightrope walker leapt and danced  between the Two Towers and how it affected the lives of  ordinary New Yorkers in extraordinary ways.

T.J. Stiles’s The First Tycoon:  the epic life of Cornelius Vanderbilt took the nonfiction award.  Stiles recounts Vanderbilt’s life from his humble birth on Staten Island to his reign as America’s railroad king and driver of unbridled American capitalism.

Other National Book Award winners include Transcendental Studies: A Trilogy by Keith Waldrop for Poetry and Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice by Phillip Hoose for Young People’s Literature.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: